PLAY #347: NOW IS WHEN ALL THESE LETTERS AND QUESTIONS COLLIDE (7.DEC.2015)

A large greenhouse.

A large foam logo inside: #GOCOP21.

MAYA (17; mixed race – black and white parents; American; female) is inside.

NICK (19; white; American; male) is outside.

 

MAYA and NICK move consistently.

Sometimes they track the perimeter of their space.

Sometimes they move on the spot.

Sometimes they are quite close.

MAYA does not exit the greenhouse.

NICK does not enter the greenhouse.

 

MAYA

why is everybody taking photos in front of the logo?

 

NICK

can I have made the wrong decision?

 

MAYA

where is the zone to scream?

 

NICK

should I not have left you here?

 

MAYA

how can protestors be under house arrest when businesses are given stalls to sell their lies?

 

NICK

but what comfort could I have been to you?

 

MAYA

why are people afraid of freedom of speech instead of climate change?

 

NICK

haven’t you turned out better on your own?

 

MAYA

how do we cut through all this fluff and get to the core of the issue?

 

NICK

will this thing that is me burst from the pride of you?

 

MAYA

how do young people get a real voice here?

 

NICK

will you say everything I never found the words for?

 

MAYA

how do we say: no more?

 

NICK

can you hear me?

 

MAYA

how can me make governments listen?

 

NICK

did your mother tell you about me?

 

MAYA

how can governments wake up?

 

NICK

how is she doing?

 

MAYA

how do we break out of this hole where everybody feels guilty about individual actions?

 

NICK

is she mad at me?

 

MAYA

how do we build energy rather than despair?

 

NICK

is she mad at you for coming here?

 

MAYA

is it mad that I feel energized by all this?

 

NICK

when she cries, does she still wipe her tears with her sleeve?

 

MAYA

is hope a strange thing to hold onto here?

 

NICK

when she smiles, are there her dimples?

 

MAYA

why am I so scared of despair?

 

NICK

what are you like when you smile?

 

MAYA

is it because of you?

 

Pause.

 

NICK

can you hear me?

 

 

Pause.

 

MAYA

do I think you listen?

 

NICK

if you could, what would I say?

 

MAYA

what is it I believe in?

 

NICK

did I do the calculus wrong?

 

MAYA

what words are there for all the connections I feel?

 

NICK

was the result of zero net emissions from me too high a price to pay?

 

MAYA

how do we talk about history without fighting?

 

NICK

did they even give me a proper low-carbon burial?

 

MAYA

how do we build a movement that stretches from the past to the future?

 

NICK

am I a punchline?

 

MAYA

how do we move people?

 

NICK

when you went to my grave, did you plant herbs?

 

MAYA

will moving people to tears move them to action?

 

NICK

did you go to my grave at all?

 

MAYA

how many more storms, refugees, droughts, disasters would be needed to tip the scales?

 

NICK

will you ever understand how somebody with all the advantages of the world can still sink into despair?

 

MAYA

how can we convey urgency without overwhelming people?

 

NICK

how can I ever want you to be able to understand what depression is?

 

Pause.

 

MAYA

do I blame you?

 

Pause.

 

NICK

is it better to live and face a future that will most probably bring pain?

 

MAYA

what happens now?

 

NICK

is this something you will ever have to think about?

 

MAYA

how do we build this movement?

 

NICK

how do I rip through time and make sure that never happens?

 

MAYA

how do I respect all these connections to things I don’t even have words for?

 

NICK

do I want answers?

 

Pause.

For a moment, MAYA and NICK stop moving and look at each other.

 

MAYA

when we all meet, what will we say?

