PLAY #322: ZEPHYR (NOV 10)

USA, 2000.

YAYA (25, black, female) and ZAC (19, white, male) stand on a hill by a tree in the Virginia countryside.

YAYA holds an urn.

 

YAYA

This the spot.

 

ZAC

It’s beautiful.

 

YAYA

You’re sure your loafers survived?

 

ZAC

I should have brought boots.

 

YAYA

I should have told you.

 

ZAC

But you wanted to make fun of me.

 

YAYA

No. Well. Maybe a little.

 

ZAC

Nick would be proud.

 

YAYA

Yeah.

 

YAYA sits and pulls out some food from her backpack.

 

YAYA

Lunch?

 

ZAC

Sure. It’s all from the farm?

 

YAYA

Yeah.

 

ZAC

It’s great. I mean, delicious. Like, way better than what you get at Dean and Deluca.

 

YAYA

Uh-huh.

 

ZAC

And so much better than the Meal Plan at College. Nice to have real food.

 

YAYA

Maybe I’ll send you a basket in the Fall.

 

ZAC

Maybe I can come volunteer next Summer?

 

YAYA

What about all your internships?

 

ZAC

I can do an internship at your radical school, no?

 

YAYA

Not sure the Free School will be as useful for your resume.

 

ZAC

Maybe not.

 

Pause.

 

ZAC

It would be cool to see Maya.

 

YAYA

Yeah.

 

ZAC

Maybe you can get to D.C. sometime.

 

YAYA

I don’t know. I used to only go there for protests. Not sure that she’s old enough yet.

 

ZAC

Or Connecticut.

 

YAYA

Don’t think that’ll be happening.

 

ZAC

They’d be glad to see you.

 

YAYA

They blame me.

 

ZAC

And Maya. It could be good for everybody.

 

YAYA

She’s a kid, not a bandage. She can’t be the thing that holds everything together.

 

ZAC

No.

(beat.)

They blame themselves.

 

YAYA

They should.

(beat.)

I blame him sometimes.

 

ZAC

Me too.

 

Pause.

 

YAYA

You want to do this?

 

ZAC

Sure…you sure we should do it here? With the wind?

 

YAYA

Don’t want Nick to get one last punch in?

(beat.)

Sorry, that was…

 

ZAC

No, it was funny. He’d love it.

(beat.)

I wish we could laugh about it more.

 

YAYA

You set up the Suicide Stand-Up Show; I’ll watch.

 

YAYA opens the urn.

 

ZAC

You don’t want Maya to be here?

 

YAYA

We’ve done our thing.

 

ZAC

Cool.

(beat.)

You’re right. It’s not too much wind. Just a little breeze. Gentle. Nice to have some currents, so you don’t know where it’ll end up. A zephyr.

 

YAYA

Thanks, AP English.

 

ZAC

I know all the ‘z’ words, my little alphabet-sakes. Gotta get them into conversation when I can. Not too many times a day you can admire a zenith or observe zymosis or spot a zebra…sorry. I talk too much when I’m nervous. Nick used to time me sometimes. Not that he could talk. Or, the opposite – he could really talk…

 

YAYA

Yeah.

 

Pause.

 

ZAC

You used to come here together?

 

YAYA

Sometimes.

 

ZAC

Thanks for inviting me.

 

YAYA

All good.

 

ZAC

I would like to come back and see the farm and the school and the collective and maybe I can even talk to Senator Watkins about getting money or some grants for some of the cool energy things you’re doing. I mean, we’re working more on the international policy side of global warming but the local matters too and I could put in a word and-

 

YAYA

It’s okay.

 

ZAC

Oh. Right. You don’t believe in government here.

 

YAYA

Nobody’s accusing you of anything. You pick your own path.

 

ZAC

I do believe in it. I do think it matters who wins this election.

 

YAYA

Your idealism is admirable.

 

ZAC

International negotiations are the only place where meaningful action on the climate can happen, Nick knew that-

 

YAYA

You don’t have to justify yourself to me. Or to him.

 

ZAC

No. Different paths.

(beat.)

Do you ever imagine he’s here?

 

YAYA

Here?

 

ZAC

Anywhere. That you can see him. That he’s talking to you. Arguing with you. Sure of himself.

 

YAYA

A complete self-righteous bastard!?

 

ZAC

Exactly.

 

YAYA

If I do see him, I’m the one talking. When I’m not hitting him. Or holding him.

 

ZAC

That makes sense.

 

YAYA

Maybe. Lets do this.

 

ZAC

Lets. Should we say a prayer or something? Is that what you do?

 

YAYA

We’re a collective not a cult.

 

ZAC

I know. Just seems like there should be some ceremony.

 

YAYA

You got a hymn you want to share?

 

ZAC

I don’t know what Nick would like.

 

YAYA

Well, he didn’t leave us any instructions, alongside the other whole lot of nothing he left, so…

 

ZAC

We wing it.

 

YAYA

Yeah.

 

ZAC

We trust in the zephyr. The flow of the world.

 

YAYA

You’re sure you don’t want to join a cult?

 

ZAC

Isn’t that what government is for you?

 

YAYA

Little brother can be funny.

 

ZAC

I have my moments.

 

Pause.

 

YAYA

Let’s do this.

 

ZAC

Lets.

 

YAYA holds out the urn.

