PLAY #234: PLANE TRUTH (AUGUST 10)

A plane.

FREQUENT FLIER turns to PASSENGER.

 

FREQUENT FLIER

Sorry, I’m a nervous flier so I have to talk during take-off, because that’s when most accidents occur, I hear, so I think it’s best to keep your mind occupied, or your mouth, which for me is much the same thing, because it’s an unpleasant situation, especially when you can’t have any electronics on and you don’t have any things to buy yet. Usually, I suck sweets, mints or chewing gum or something, but I was all out of change so I hope you don’t mind if I just talk and talk because it’s important to keep things moving when we’re going so fast and I know it’s a little unusual but it really is making me feel like 100% better like on top of the world, which, I guess we are now, look at those clouds! Now, I think we’re past the difficult part.

 

PASSENGER

You’re okay?

 

FREQUENT FLIER

Yes. I’m sorry for talking your ear off, it’s just I hadn’t got mints and I do really get quite nervous and otherwise I might have gripped onto the seat too hard and these things are so cheap now, it would probably have ripped off, or I could have ripped onto you arm and…

 

PASSENGER

It’s okay. Actually, I’d be glad to talk. I’m going to the Climate Summit in Paris and I want to collect impressions about people’s ideas about climate change.

 

FREQUENT FLIER

Climate change?

 

PASSENGER

Yes.

 

Pause.

 

FREQUENT FLIER

Oh, well, the thing is…usually once we take off I put my earplugs in. Keeps me calm.

 

PASSENGER

It would only take a couple of minutes. We have a questionnaire.

 

FREQUENT FLIER

I’m sorry – if I don’t have these things in, I go crazy.

 

FREQUENT FLIER puts earplugs in, looks out window.

Shadows of clouds pass across.

