PLAY #210: LAY ME DOWN A RAFT UPON YOUR FLOOR (JULY 13)

A rising sea.

A sinking ship.

A solar panel, somehow floating beside the ship.

ROSE, a rich woman, balances precariously on top of the panel.

JACK, a poor man, treads water beside her, clinging onto the panel.

Perhaps some resemblance to the film Titanic.

 

ROSE

I thought that

the sea would never come for me.

 

JACK

Hang on, Rose, hang on, help will be here.

 

ROSE

I thought that

if we slapped up a few solar panels, it would be enough.

 

JACK

Keep breathing, don’t let go, Miss Rose.

 

ROSE

I thought that

civilization was a sturdy ship, not to be ruptured.

 

JACK

Don’t be thinking sad thoughts, just keep fighting.

 

ROSE

I thought that

the small choices we made would have meaning.

 

JACK

Hang on, Rose, I’m sure there’s a ship coming soon.

 

ROSE

I thought that

it didn’t matter so much what we were invested in, that other people would fix the problem.

 

JACK

Just keep breathing, you know I love you.

 

ROSE

I thought that

the sun would save us, that we’d figure out how to use its energy well.

 

JACK

Don’t be worrying about that, it was too little, too late, but we’re still here.

 

ROSE

I thought that

this was another instance of over-heated apocalypse fear.

 

JACK

We’re still here, just don’t let go.

 

ROSE

I thought that

nothing would really change, at least for me.

 

JACK

Nothing has to change for us, just keep holding on, start writing a letter to all those fossil fuel companies your parents were mixed up with.

 

ROSE

I thought that

I would float above any troubles.

 

JACK lets go, plummets to the bottom of the ocean.

ROSE steadies herself, too numb to grieve.

 

ROSE

I thought that

if I didn’t think about it, the problem would just go away.

I though that

I would float.

 

Panel capsizes.

ROSE falls into the water.

Panel and ROSE sink.

