PLAY #33: THE THREE WISE OLD ONES AND THE STARS (JAN 2)

Times Square.

THREE WISE OLD ONES sit on benches.

They look up at the sky.

 

WISE OLD ONE #1

Used to be a time when you could see the stars.

 

WISE OLD ONE #2

Too much light!

 

WISE OLD ONE #3

Everything’s lit up now.

 

WISE OLD ONE #2

As if the buildings will lose their confidence if they’re not gleaming for 24 hours of the day.

 

WISE OLD ONE #1

Or we can’t survive if somebody’s not trying to sell us something.

 

WISE OLD ONE #3

It’s not just the light pollution. It’s all sorts.

 

WISE OLD ONE #2

The gases in the air.

 

WISE OLD ONE #3

The fog in front of your eyes.

 

Pause.

 

WISE OLD ONE #1

You can still see them if you squint.

 

WISE OLD ONE #3

What’s the use sure?

 

WISE OLD ONE #1

They tell you things.

 

WISE OLD ONE #3

Like what?

 

WISE OLD ONE #2

Like the way.

 

WISE OLD ONE #1

Like what to look at.

 

WISE OLD ONE #2

Like who’s beautiful.

 

WISE OLD ONE #1

Like how small-sized you are.

 

WISE OLD ONE #2

Like what people care about. Know a lot about a culture by how it groups the stars. Some sort of personality test, but on a bigger scale, you know?

 

WISE OLD ONE #3

Well, I’m tired of looking at warriors: isn’t there enough violence down on earth without us seeing it up in the skies?

 

Pause.

 

WISE OLD ONE #1

I liked when you could see the stars. When they’d tell you things.

 

Pause.

 

WISE OLD ONE #3

Sure what can stars tell us? By the time the light gets down here, they’re long gone.

(beat.)

They’re all singing the same song: look at me, I’m dead!

 

WISE OLD ONE #1

Well. Maybe that’s something we could listen to.

 

WISE OLD ONE #3

(softly)

Look at me, I’m dead

Look at me, I’m dead

Look at me, I’m dead…

 

WISE OLD ONE #1

Well…..

 

They look up at the sky.

